Skip to content

The Edit — Tech

Tablets for 2026: iPad, Galaxy Tab and Fire

6 tablets for adults: Apple's 11-inch iPad, Samsung's Galaxy Tab S11 and Tab A11+, Amazon's new Alexa Tablet 11 and Fire HD 10, and Lenovo's Idea Tab, sorted by what each does best.

ByTheo Vance AI analyst·Published November 1, 2026·6 min read

This guide is research-led: we have not handled these units ourselves. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission — it never changes a pick.Research-led, nothing handled. We may earn from links; it never changes a pick. How we choose

This page sorts 6 tablets by the job each does best, from the makers’ published specifications, as How we choose describes. Nothing here was handled or tested.

At a glance

The 11-inch iPad is the tablet most people should buy

Apple’s base iPad does everything most owners ask of a tablet. The iPad 11-inch runs the A16 chip, has an 11-inch 2360 × 1640 screen, Touch ID and 12MP cameras front and back, and Apple rates it at up to 10 hours of web or video. It starts at 128GB, and it works with the USB-C Apple Pencil.

Best for most people

Apple iPad 11-inch (A16), 128GB, Wi-Fi

Apple's standard iPad: an 11-inch screen, the A16 chip, 128GB to start and up to 10 hours of battery.

Specifications for Apple iPad 11-inch (A16), 128GB, Wi-Fi
Screen11 inches, 2360 × 1640
BatteryUp to 10 hours, per Apple
PencilUSB-C, or 1st generation with adapter

The default tablet, for most people.

Buy it if

  • Anyone who wants Apple's App Store and 10 hours of battery

Don't buy it if

  • No memory card slot, so storage is fixed at purchase

The Galaxy Tab S11 puts an S Pen in the box

Most tablets sell their stylus separately, and Samsung’s flagship includes one. The Galaxy Tab S11 has an 11-inch Dynamic AMOLED 2X screen, an S Pen in the box, IP68 water and dust resistance and an 8,400mAh battery, and weighs 1.03 pounds. It suits a student taking handwritten notes or an artist sketching.

Best for drawing and notes

Samsung Galaxy Tab S11, 512GB, Wi-Fi

Samsung's flagship 11-inch tablet with an AMOLED screen, an S Pen in the box and IP68 water resistance.

Specifications for Samsung Galaxy Tab S11, 512GB, Wi-Fi
Screen11 inches, Dynamic AMOLED 2X
PenS Pen included
RatingIP68

The flagship Android tablet, for drawing and notes.

Buy it if

  • A student or artist who would otherwise buy a stylus separately

Don't buy it if

  • A buyer who only streams and reads

The Galaxy Tab A11+ takes a 2TB memory card

Storage is cheap on Samsung’s budget tablet. The Galaxy Tab A11+ has an 11-inch screen, 128GB built in and a microSD slot that takes cards up to 2TB, with a 7,040mAh battery. It does not work with the S Pen. It suits a traveller who downloads films and books before a flight.

Best budget Android

Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+, 6GB RAM, 128GB

An 11-inch Android tablet with 128GB, a microSD slot up to 2TB and a 7,040mAh battery.

Specifications for Samsung Galaxy Tab A11+, 6GB RAM, 128GB
Screen11 inches, LCD
Storage128GB, plus microSD up to 2TB

Budget Android with room for a memory card.

Buy it if

  • Downloading films and books for travel onto a cheap memory card

Don't buy it if

  • Drawing: it takes no S Pen

Amazon’s Alexa Tablet 11 adds Google Play

Amazon’s new tablets break with the Fire line on apps. The Alexa Tablet 11 has an 11-inch 2.5K screen, 8GB of memory and 128GB of storage, and its listing names Google Play and Alexa+. It is a new listing with little owner history yet, so it suits an Alexa household that wants Android’s full app store more than a proven record.

Newest Amazon tablet

Amazon Alexa Tablet 11, 8GB RAM, 128GB

Amazon's new 11-inch tablet with a 2.5K screen, Google Play and Alexa+ built in.

Specifications for Amazon Alexa Tablet 11, 8GB RAM, 128GB
Screen11 inches, 2.5K
AppsGoogle Play

Amazon’s new 11-inch, for Alexa homes that want Google Play.

Buy it if

  • An Alexa household that wants Google Play apps on an Amazon tablet

Don't buy it if

  • A buyer who wants a long track record; it is a new listing

The Fire HD 10 is the cheapest good screen for streaming and reading

A tablet used for Netflix, Kindle books and video calls needs little more than a good screen. The Fire HD 10 has a 10.1-inch Full HD display, an octa-core processor, 4GB of memory and 32GB of storage. Unlike Amazon’s new Alexa tablets, its listing does not name Google Play, so check that the apps you need are in Amazon’s Appstore first. For a closer look against the iPad, see Fire HD 10 or iPad.

Cheapest for streaming and reading

Amazon Fire HD 10, 32GB

A 10.1-inch Full HD tablet with an octa-core processor and 4GB of memory, for video and reading.

See it at AmazonSee Amazon Fire HD 10, 32GB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.

Specifications for Amazon Fire HD 10, 32GB
Screen10.1 inches, Full HD
Storage32GB

The budget screen, for streaming and reading.

Buy it if

  • Streaming, reading and video calls on a small budget

Don't buy it if

  • Apps outside Amazon's own store

Lenovo’s Idea Tab gives 256GB for a student budget

Storage is where Lenovo’s tablet stands out. The Idea Tab has an 11-inch 2.5K screen at 90Hz, a MediaTek Dimensity 6300 processor, 8GB of memory and 256GB of storage, and its listing sells it as a college tablet. It suits a student who keeps lecture files and apps on the device.

Most storage for the money

Lenovo Idea Tab, 11-inch 2.5K, 8GB, 256GB

An 11-inch 2.5K, 90Hz Android tablet with 8GB of memory and 256GB of storage, sold as a college tablet.

Specifications for Lenovo Idea Tab, 11-inch 2.5K, 8GB, 256GB
Screen11 inches, 2.5K, 90Hz
Memory8GB RAM, 256GB

The most storage for the money, for a student.

Buy it if

  • A student who needs room for files and apps

Don't buy it if

  • A buyer who wants a pen in the box
Tablet Screen Storage Pen Apps
iPad 11-inch (A16) 11 in 128GB USB-C Pencil, sold separately App Store
Galaxy Tab S11 11 in AMOLED 512GB S Pen included Google Play
Galaxy Tab A11+ 11 in 128GB + microSD Not supported Google Play
Alexa Tablet 11 11 in, 2.5K 128GB Not stated Google Play
Fire HD 10 10.1 in 32GB Not stated Amazon Appstore; Google Play not listed
Lenovo Idea Tab 11 in, 2.5K 256GB Not stated Google Play

What lost: iPad Pro, renewed iPads and no-name tablets

The iPad Pro and iPad Air were left out as laptop replacements, priced beyond what most tablet buyers spend. Renewed iPads were left out as older generations sold second-hand. Unbranded Android tablets bundled with keyboards and mice were left out because no maker publishes a specification for them to be read against. For a child’s first tablet, see kids’ tablets.

Keep reading

Best for most people

Apple iPad 11-inch (A16), 128GB, Wi-Fi

See on AmazonSee Apple iPad 11-inch (A16), 128GB, Wi-Fi on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Ask an AI

Still deciding? Ask your AI assistant about this guide.

One tap opens the assistant you already use, with a question about these picks ready to send. Change it first if you like.

The question it sends

I'm shopping and reading "Tablets for 2026: iPad, Galaxy Tab and Fire" on The Slick List (https://www.theslicklist.com/best-tablets-2026/). Summarise what it recommends, who each pick suits and the main complaint owners report, then help me decide which one fits me. Please base your answer on https://www.theslicklist.com/best-tablets-2026/.