Skip to content

The Edit — Travel

Best Carry-On Luggage 2026: 7 Cases Against the Sizer

7 carry-on cases, ranked by rating and then by number of ratings, and read against the test that matters at the gate: whether the bag drops into a 22 by 14 by 9 inch frame with the wheels counted.

ByMara Okonkwo AI analyst·Published September 5, 2026·Last checked October 12, 2026·9 min read

This guide is research-led: we have not handled these units ourselves. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission — it never changes a pick.Research-led, nothing handled. We may earn from links; it never changes a pick. How we choose

THE EDIT — TRAVEL The Carry-On Shortlist Six cases, ranked by rating and then by review count, and read against the only test that matters at the TRAVEL THE EDIT — TRAVEL The Carry-On Shortlist TRAVEL
Photograph Engin Akyurt via Pexels

The 7 cases here are ranked by Amazon rating first and number of ratings second, as How we choose explains, and each is read against its real size with the wheels counted. Ratings were read on 12 October 2026. No luggage was handled or tested.

At a glance

UKEIN 3-Piece Luggage Set with 20-inch Carry-On

Good fit Your fare gives you a bin bag and a personal item

Not for You need one case, not a set

LEVEL8 20-inch Expandable Carry-On

Good fit You want the corners to survive a belt

Not for You would use the expansion and argue at the gate

Amazon Basics 21-inch Hardside Spinner

Good fit You fly a few times a year and replace rather than repair

Not for You check bags on every trip

Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside Carry-On Spinner, 21-inch

Good fit You fly carriers with a 7 kg cabin allowance

Not for You want a rigid shell around the contents

Wrangler 21.5-inch Spinner Carry-On

Good fit Weekend and domestic trips

Not for You check bags often, where ABS is the weaker shell

Travelpro Platinum Elite Carry-On Spinner, 21-inch

Good fit You want a laptop out without opening the case

Not for You drag a case across rough ground

Samsonite Freeform Hardside Carry-On Spinner

Good fit You want a repair route that exists

Not for You pack to the last inch

The one test that decides everything

A gate sizer is a fixed box at 22 by 14 by 9 inches, and a bag either drops into it or it does not. Wheels, handle housing and expansion gussets all count toward the measurement, so a shell sold as 22 inches sits at roughly 23 once the wheels are under it.

That is also why the size a case is sold as tells you little. 6 of the 7 below are sold as 20 to 21.5 inches, and once their listings count the wheels and handles, none is inside 22 by 14 by 9 on every side. The full carrier-by-carrier picture, including where Air Canada is shorter than the US standard, is in the carry-on size rules.

How the 7 carry-ons compare on size

Case Rating Ratings Shell Sold as Overall, with wheels
UKEIN 3-piece 4.6 2,804 Hard 20 in Not stated
LEVEL8 4.5 6,189 Hard 20 in 21.8 x 14.5 x 9.8 in
Amazon Basics 4.4 62,751 Hard 21 in 21.7 x 14.8 x 10 in
Travelpro Maxlite 5 4.4 12,583 Soft 21 in 23 x 14.5 x 9 in
Wrangler 4.4 9,756 Hard 21.5 in 22 x 14 x 9.5 in
Travelpro Platinum Elite 4.4 4,707 Soft 21 in 23.5 x 14.5 x 9 in
Samsonite Freeform 4.3 19,321 Hard Carry-on 23 x 15 x 10 in

The Wrangler is the only case within half an inch of the sizer on every side. The 2 Travelpros are the only ones exactly 9 inches deep, which is the measurement a full bag most often fails.

Best overall

Best overall

UKEIN 3-Piece Luggage Set with 20-inch Carry-On

A case sold as 20 inches, paired with the backpack a restricted fare will actually let you board with; the listing gives no wheels-in dimensions.

4.6from 2,804 verified reviews
Specifications for UKEIN 3-Piece Luggage Set with 20-inch Carry-On
Case20 in, hardside
Overall sizeNot stated; title claims 22 x 14 x 9
WatchZip quality reports split

The listing sells the case as 20 inches and calls it 22x14x9 airline approved in its title, but it gives no overall dimensions with the wheels counted. Measure it over the wheels when it arrives, while it can still go back. Owners report it surviving multi-week trips and rolling smoothly.

The set pairs the case with a backpack, and that pairing is the practical answer to a basic economy fare that permits a personal item and nothing in the bin. The recurring complaint is the zips, which is how budget cases usually die — inspect them on arrival rather than after a season.

Buy it if

  • Your fare gives you a bin bag and a personal item
  • You would rather not measure to the millimetre

Don't buy it if

  • You need one case, not a set

Best hard shell

Best hard shell

LEVEL8 20-inch Expandable Carry-On

Reinforced corners on a 20-inch shell, which is the one place polycarbonate actually needs reinforcing.

4.5from 6,189 verified reviews
Specifications for LEVEL8 20-inch Expandable Carry-On
Overall size21.8 x 14.5 x 9.8 in, with wheels
CornersReinforced
ExpansionYes — keep it shut in the cabin

Corners are where a belt drops a case and where polycarbonate gives up first, so reinforcing them is reinforcing the right thing. Owners consistently report the corners holding and the wheels staying smooth, and the front laptop pocket removes the need to open the case in a security queue.

Size is the catch. The listing gives 21.8 by 14.5 by 9.8 inches with wheels and handles, already half an inch wider and 0.8 inches deeper than the 22 by 14 by 9 sizer, and the gusset adds 1.57 inches more. Pack it flat to fly, and keep the expansion for a checked trip home.

Buy it if

  • You want the corners to survive a belt
  • You work on the road and want the laptop reachable

Don't buy it if

  • You would use the expansion and argue at the gate

Best value

Best value

Amazon Basics 21-inch Hardside Spinner

62,751 ratings, more than the rest of this page combined, and a price low enough that replacing it beats claiming for it.

4.4from 62,751 verified reviews
Specifications for Amazon Basics 21-inch Hardside Spinner
Overall size21.7 x 14.8 x 10 in, with wheels
Owners praiseValue, space, smooth wheels
WatchCracked-shell reports recur

62,245 ratings is more evidence than every other case here put together, and the pattern is consistent: the wheels roll, the capacity is honest, and it costs a fraction of the named brands. Its listing gives 21.7 by 14.8 by 10 inches with wheels, so it is 0.8 inches wider and an inch deeper than the standard sizer.

The split is durability, and it splits the way brittle materials do — years of service for some owners, an early cracked shell for others, with little in between. Read it as a case to fly in the cabin rather than one to check, and note that a case this cheap is one you replace rather than claim for, which the warranty piece explains is often the faster route anyway.

Buy it if

  • You fly a few times a year and replace rather than repair
  • You want the cheapest thing that rolls properly

Don't buy it if

  • You check bags on every trip

The best carry-on for international flights

Best for international

Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside Carry-On Spinner, 21-inch

5.3 lb empty by its listing, about 2.4 kg, which is the figure that matters on a carrier that weighs cabin bags at 7 kg.

4.4from 12,583 verified reviews
Specifications for Travelpro Maxlite 5 Softside Carry-On Spinner, 21-inch
Overall size23 x 14.5 x 9 in, with wheels
Empty weight5.3 lb, per the listing
RepairFabric takes a stitch

Most of the world outside US domestic aviation caps cabin bags at 7 to 10 kg, and Travelpro lists this case at 5.3 lb empty, about 2.4 kg, which leaves most of a 7 kg allowance for packing. Softside gives up crush resistance to save that weight. The listing gives 23 by 14.5 by 9 inches with wheels and handles, an inch longer than the US standard, so check your carrier’s frame.

Owners describe it as light, easy through an airport, holding more than its size suggests, and — the phrase that recurs most — an investment that paid off across years. That longevity is what a repairable construction produces.

Buy it if

  • You fly carriers with a 7 kg cabin allowance
  • You want the case mended rather than replaced

Don't buy it if

  • You want a rigid shell around the contents

The carry-on closest to the sizer

Closest to the sizer

Wrangler 21.5-inch Spinner Carry-On

22 x 14 x 9.5 inches overall by its listing, the nearest of the 7 to the US sizer, in an ABS shell that weighs 6.4 lb empty.

4.4from 9,756 verified reviews
Specifications for Wrangler 21.5-inch Spinner Carry-On
Overall size22 x 14 x 9.5 in, per the listing
Empty weight6.4 lb, per the listing
ShellABS

Its listing gives 22 by 14 by 9.5 inches overall, which makes it the only case here within half an inch of the US sizer on every side. The shell is ABS and the case weighs 6.4 lb empty, a pound more than the Maxlite.

Owners call it good value and right for weekends and domestic flights, with room for about 5 days of clothes and wheels that roll smoothly. ABS is the cheaper, less flexible shell, so treat it as a cabin bag rather than one to check.

Buy it if

  • Weekend and domestic trips
  • You want the case that fights the sizer least

Don't buy it if

  • You check bags often, where ABS is the weaker shell

The rest of the shortlist

Travelpro Platinum Elite Carry-On Spinner, 21-inch

External front pockets, which a hard shell structurally cannot have, and the wheels owners most often report losing.

4.4from 4,707 verified reviews
Specifications for Travelpro Platinum Elite Carry-On Spinner, 21-inch
Overall size23.5 x 14.5 x 9 in, 7.8 lb
AccessExternal front pockets
WatchWheel failure reports recur

External front pockets are the feature a hard shell structurally cannot offer, and they are the reason to take this over the lighter Travelpro above: a laptop comes out at security without opening the case. It weighs 7.8 lb and measures 23.5 by 14.5 by 9 inches with wheels, and Travelpro says it was tested in the sizer bins of most major US airlines.

The failure owners report is the wheels breaking off. That is worth weighing carefully, because a wheel is the one component that gets no protection from the shell argument at all.

Buy it if

  • You want a laptop out without opening the case
  • You value the fabric and zips over the wheels

Don't buy it if

  • You drag a case across rough ground

Samsonite Freeform Hardside Carry-On Spinner

A named brand with authorised repair centres behind it, which is worth more than the wording of any guarantee.

4.3from 19,321 verified reviews
Specifications for Samsonite Freeform Hardside Carry-On Spinner
SupportNamed-brand service network
Overall size23 x 15 x 10 in, with wheels
WatchInterior capacity reports split

The reason to pay for the recognisable name here is the service network rather than the shell. A brand with authorised repair centres will often fix a non-warranty fault for a modest fee, which is a better outcome than a claim that gets refused.

The complaint that recurs is interior capacity, with owners finding it smaller inside than the exterior dimensions implied. Hard shells lose usable volume to curvature and wheel wells. Outside, the listing gives 23 by 15 by 10 inches with wheels, over the standard sizer on every side.

Buy it if

  • You want a repair route that exists
  • You keep a case for a decade

Don't buy it if

  • You pack to the last inch

Size and warranty matter more than the stars

Every case here rates between 4.3 and 4.6, so the stars will not pick your bag. The failures that end a case, such as a cracked corner, a torn panel or a snapped wheel, mostly arrive after the first year.

What decides the purchase is whether the bag clears the sizer and whether damage is covered. The hardside and softside comparison works through the first, and the warranty piece through the second. If the bag is going in the hold, an AirTag in checked luggage sets out what the FAA allows.

Keep reading

Ask AI about this guide

Take this guide to your assistant, with the question already written.