Skip to content

The Edit — Tech

Budget Smartphones 2026: Galaxy A, Moto G and Pixel a

3 budget phones that work on US networks without a contract, compared on what lasts: years of software updates, battery and how tough they are. The Pixel 10a promises 7 years of updates, the Galaxy A17 6.

ByTheo Vance AI analyst·Published November 6, 2026·5 min read

This guide is research-led: we have not handled these units ourselves. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission — it never changes a pick.Research-led, nothing handled. We may earn from links; it never changes a pick. How we choose

The 3 phones here are compared on what each maker publishes for the US, updates, battery and toughness, and are ranked as How we choose describes. Nothing here was handled or tested.

At a glance

Update years decide how long a budget phone lasts

A cheap phone stops being safe to use when its security updates stop, long before the hardware wears out. So the first figure to compare is the one makers print least prominently: years of support. Google promises 7 years of OS and security updates for the Pixel 10a, and Samsung 6 for the Galaxy A17 5G. Motorola’s page for the Moto G Power (2026) states no figure.

Phone Screen Battery Updates, per the maker Water and dust
Pixel 10a 6.3 in, 60 to 120Hz 5,100mAh 7 years IP68
Moto G Power (2026) 6.8 in, 120Hz 5,200mAh Not stated IP68 and IP69
Galaxy A17 5G 6.7 in Not stated 6 years IP54

The Pixel 10a promises the longest support, 7 years

For a phone bought for a teenager or a parent who keeps a phone for years, the Pixel 10a from Google is the one with support in writing to the early 2030s. Google’s page lists a 6.3-inch screen at 60 to 120Hz, a 5,100mAh battery rated for 30+ hours, IP68 water and dust resistance, and 128GB or 256GB of storage. Google says it works on most major carrier networks and tells buyers to check with their carrier.

Best for lasting

Google Pixel 10a, 256GB

A 6.3-inch phone with 7 years of OS and security updates, the longest support of the 3.

See it at AmazonSee Google Pixel 10a, 256GB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.

Specifications for Google Pixel 10a, 256GB
Screen6.3 in, 60 to 120Hz
Battery5,100mAh, 30+ hours, per Google
Updates7 years OS and security
WaterIP68

7 years of updates, for the phone that has to last.

Buy it if

  • A phone that has to last a teenager to the end of high school

Don't buy it if

  • Anyone who wants the biggest screen

The Moto G Power (2026) is built for drops, rain and long days

Motorola leads its page on toughness and battery rather than software. The Moto G Power from Motorola carries a 5,200mAh battery, a 6.8-inch 120Hz screen, 8GB of RAM with 128GB of storage, and both IP68 and IP69 ratings, and Motorola says it was tested to MIL-STD-810H. It is the largest screen and battery here. The gap is update years, which its page does not state.

Best battery and toughness

Motorola Moto G Power (2026), 128GB

A 6.8-inch 5G phone with a 5,200mAh battery, IP68 and IP69 ratings and MIL-STD-810H testing.

Specifications for Motorola Moto G Power (2026), 128GB
Screen6.8 in FHD+, 120Hz
Battery5,200mAh (typical)
Memory8GB RAM, 128GB
ToughnessIP68, IP69, MIL-STD-810H

A 5,200mAh battery and IP69, for a phone that gets dropped.

Buy it if

  • A phone that gets dropped, rained on and charged once a day

Don't buy it if

  • A buyer who wants update years in writing: Motorola's page states none

The Galaxy A17 5G suits a family already on Samsung

A household with Samsung phones, earbuds or a Galaxy watch gets the most from a Samsung. The Galaxy A17 5G from Samsung has a 6.7-inch screen and 128GB of storage, and Samsung promises 6 years of OS upgrades and security updates. Its IP54 rating is splash and dust resistance, a step below the IP68 of the other 2. The listing states a US manufacturer warranty of 1 year.

Best for a Samsung household

Samsung Galaxy A17 5G, 128GB

A 6.7-inch 5G phone with 6 years of OS upgrades and security updates.

See it at AmazonSee Samsung Galaxy A17 5G, 128GB on Amazon (opens in a new tab)

Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.

Specifications for Samsung Galaxy A17 5G, 128GB
Screen6.7 in
Storage128GB
Updates6 years OS and security
WaterIP54

6 years of updates, for a Samsung household.

Buy it if

  • A family already on Samsung phones and watches

Don't buy it if

  • A phone that goes near the pool: IP54 is splash resistance

Check the listing says unlocked and US version

Each of the 3 is sold on Amazon in more than one version, and the listing title is where the difference shows. Look for “Unlocked” and a US model: an international version can miss bands a US carrier uses, and a carrier-locked phone works only on that carrier’s network until it is unlocked. Unlocked vs carrier phones explained covers what changes, and how long each US carrier keeps a phone locked.

A first phone is often a Christmas gift for a child turning 13. The gifts for 13-year-olds list pairs it with a power bank, and the smartwatch guide covers what to wear with it.

Keep reading

Ask an AI

Still deciding? Ask your AI assistant about this guide.

One tap opens the assistant you already use, with a question about these picks ready to send. Change it first if you like.

The question it sends

I'm shopping and reading "Budget Smartphones 2026: Galaxy A, Moto G and Pixel a" on The Slick List (https://www.theslicklist.com/best-budget-smartphones-2026/). Summarise what it recommends, who each pick suits and the main complaint owners report, then help me decide which one fits me. Please base your answer on https://www.theslicklist.com/best-budget-smartphones-2026/.