The Edit — Software
Kindle Unlimited or Prime Reading: What Each Covers
Kindle Unlimited is a separate paid membership with more than 5 million books. Prime includes a curated slice of that catalogue, a First Reads book every month and short Original Stories.
This guide is research-led: we have not handled these units ourselves. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission — it never changes a pick. How we choose
This page reads Amazon’s own descriptions of Kindle Unlimited and of Prime’s reading benefits, as How we choose describes, and sets out what each one covers. Nothing here was subscribed to or tested.
Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model)
Good fit Someone who will read a Kindle Unlimited book a week
Not for A reader who wants the 2026 screen
Good fit A Prime member reading a book or two a month
Not for Reading in the bath
Good fit A child's first e-reader
Not for An adult who wants Kindle Unlimited
Kindle Unlimited is a separate membership, not part of Prime
Amazon answers the question directly: Kindle Unlimited is not free with Prime. It is its own paid monthly membership, with more than 5 million digital books and thousands of audiobooks, comics, manga and magazines, from USA Today to People.
| Kindle Unlimited | Included with Prime | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A separate monthly membership | Part of Prime, at no extra cost |
| Catalogue | More than 5 million books, plus audiobooks, comics, manga, magazines | A curated selection of the Kindle Unlimited catalogue |
| Borrowing | Up to 20 titles at once, no due dates | Not stated in Amazon’s article |
| First Reads | Not included | 1 Kindle book a month, a month early, yours to keep |
| Original Stories | Not stated | Short stories by authors such as Margaret Atwood |
| Free trial | 3 months in Amazon’s fall offer | Prime’s own 30-day trial |
Both work on any Kindle and on the free Kindle app for iOS, Android, Mac, PC and the web.
Prime already includes a book a month you keep
Amazon First Reads gives Prime members 1 Kindle book a month from an editors’ selection, a month before it goes on sale. New picks arrive on the 1st, and Amazon says a First Reads book does not expire once it is in your library. Some months add a bonus short read.
Amazon Original Stories are short fiction and nonfiction meant to be read or heard in one sitting, by authors including Margaret Atwood, Ian Rankin and Guillermo del Toro. Amazon says Prime members do not need Kindle Unlimited for either benefit.
Kindle 16 GB (2024 model)
20,766 ratings at 4.5, the light, compact 6-inch Kindle, enough for First Reads and the Prime selection.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Size | 6-inch, compact |
|---|---|
| Storage | 16 GB |
20,766 ratings at 4.5. The 2024 6-inch Kindle is light and compact, with fast page turns, and it is all a Prime member needs for First Reads and the Prime selection. Amazon announced a 2026 model on 1 October; the 2024 one carries the owner record.
Buy it if
- A Prime member reading a book or two a month
Don't buy it if
- Reading in the bath
Kindle Unlimited pays off when you read faster than Prime refills
Kindle Unlimited lets you hold up to 20 titles at a time and return them whenever you like, with no due dates as long as the membership is active. Every title is ready to read at once; there are no wait-lists. Cancel any time, and access runs to the next billing date.
Look for the Kindle Unlimited badge and the Read for Free button on a Kindle book’s page; audiobook narration carries a headphone icon. Not every author takes part, so check that your favourite series is in the catalogue before you subscribe.
Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 model)
23,322 ratings at 4.6, the 2024 Paperwhite with a 7-inch glare-free screen and years of owner reports.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Screen | 7-inch, glare-free |
|---|---|
| Storage | 16 GB |
23,322 ratings at 4.6. The 2024 Paperwhite has a 7-inch glare-free screen, and it is the reader for someone working through a Kindle Unlimited series a book a week.
Buy it if
- Someone who will read a Kindle Unlimited book a week
Don't buy it if
- A reader who wants the 2026 screen
A public library is the other free catalogue; Kindle Paperwhite or Kobo Clara covers which reader borrows from it more easily.
Try Kindle Unlimited free this fall before paying
Amazon’s Prime Big Deal Days early-deals post of 28 September 2026 offers 3 months of Kindle Unlimited free, naming series such as Dungeon Crawler Carl and The Empyrean. Outside that offer, Amazon says to check your eligibility for a free trial on the Kindle Unlimited sign-up page.
A Kindle Kids comes with Amazon Kids+, a third membership
Neither adult membership is what a child’s Kindle uses. Amazon’s 1 October 2026 announcement says each 2026 Kids model comes with 12 months of Amazon Kids+, its catalogue of children’s books and audiobooks.
Kindle Kids 16GB (2024 model)
1,799 ratings at 4.4, the children's Kindle, which comes with Amazon Kids+ rather than either adult membership.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Storage | 16 GB |
|---|---|
| Promise | Replaced if it breaks, per the listing |
1,799 ratings at 4.4. The 2024 Kindle Kids carries a promise, stated on the listing, to replace it if it breaks. It is the reader for a child, with Amazon Kids+ rather than Kindle Unlimited.
Buy it if
- A child's first e-reader
Don't buy it if
- An adult who wants Kindle Unlimited
The 2026 Kindle lineup covers the new Kids models, and e-readers compared ranks the adult readers by rating.