The Edit — Gadgets
The 2026 Kindle Lineup: Which Model Is Which
Amazon replaced every Kindle on 1 October 2026: a 6-inch Kindle, an aluminium Kindle, the Paperwhite, the Colorsoft, 2 Signature Editions and Kids versions of all 3. What each step up adds, in plain terms.
This guide is research-led: we have not handled these units ourselves. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission — it never changes a pick. How we choose
The page reads Amazon’s own announcement of 1 October 2026, as How we choose describes, and sets out what separates each model. Nothing here was handled or tested.
The 6-inch Kindle is the pocket model, now in 2 builds
The Kindle is the smallest of the 3, and Amazon calls it the most pocket-sized Kindle it has made. It carries 16 GB, up to 6 weeks of battery, and opens books 30% faster than the previous release, by Amazon’s figure. It comes in Ube, a purple, and Graphite.
For the first time the same 6-inch reader also comes with an aluminium back, made from 80% recycled aluminium. That version doubles the storage to 32 GB and comes in Alpine Sky and Seaglass Green. The screen, size and battery are the same; the back and the storage are the difference.
Amazon’s announcement does not call the 6-inch Kindle waterproof. It says that only of the Paperwhite.
The Paperwhite is the one to buy for the bath and the beach
The Kindle Paperwhite is the waterproof model, with an adjustable warm light and up to 12 weeks of battery, twice the 6-inch Kindle’s figure. Amazon says it has the largest Paperwhite display yet and the highest contrast ratio of any Paperwhite, built on an oxide thin-film transistor backplane.
The standard Paperwhite carries 16 GB and comes in Graphite. For most readers it is the model the rest of the range is measured against: big enough for long reading, light enough for one hand, and the only one of the 3 base models Amazon describes as waterproof.
A Signature Edition buys the light, the storage and the dock
Each Signature Edition adds the same 5 things to its base model: an aluminium back, 32 GB of storage, an auto-adjusting front light, double tap to turn pages, and pogo pin dock charging. Amazon says the Paperwhite Signature Edition is still thinner than the previous Paperwhite despite the metal.
The dock is the detail to check. Amazon’s 2026 announcement describes pogo pin dock charging for the Signature Editions and does not mention wireless charging. The new Charging Dock and the Page-Turn Cover both fit only the Paperwhite and Colorsoft Signature Editions.
The Paperwhite Signature comes in Graphite and Seaglass Green. The Colorsoft Signature comes in Graphite and Fig.
The Colorsoft is for covers, comics and colour highlights
The Kindle Colorsoft shows colour on a paper-like screen, with a light guide using nitride LEDs and an oxide backplane. Amazon pitches it at colourful covers, travel guides, comics and graphic novels. The 2026 Colorsoft display is completely redesigned, with the same edge-to-edge build as the rest of the range.
For a reader of novels it adds little. Text is black on a pale page either way, and the Paperwhite is the model Amazon says has the highest contrast. The standard Colorsoft carries 16 GB in Graphite.
The 2026 Kindles side by side
| Model | Screen | Storage | Battery, as stated | What it adds |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kindle | 6-inch | 16 GB | Up to 6 weeks | The smallest and lightest |
| Kindle, aluminium | 6-inch | 32 GB | Up to 6 weeks | Aluminium back, double storage |
| Kindle Paperwhite | Largest Paperwhite yet | 16 GB | Up to 12 weeks | Waterproof, warm light |
| Paperwhite Signature Edition | As Paperwhite | 32 GB | Not stated separately | Auto light, double tap, dock charging |
| Kindle Colorsoft | Colour | 16 GB | Not stated in the announcement | Colour covers, comics, highlights |
| Colorsoft Signature Edition | Colour | 32 GB | Not stated in the announcement | Auto light, double tap, dock charging |
Kids models add a cover and a year of Kids+
All 3 readers come in a Kids version with a cover designed by an artist and 12 months of Amazon Kids+, the children’s catalogue of books and audiobooks. Amazon says children read for more than an hour a day on average on a Kindle, with no apps, notifications or messaging.
On 1 October the Kids Kindle went on sale in the US, and the Kids Colorsoft opened for preorder. A tablet does far more and distracts far more; Kids tablets compared covers that choice.
Kindle Click works with any Kindle from 2024 on
A Bluetooth page-turn remote is the one 2026 accessory that also suits an older reader. Amazon says the remote, called Kindle Click, pairs with all the new models and with any Kindle from 2024 or later, for reading under the covers, on a treadmill or on a tray table.
The Page-Turn Cover adds physical page buttons and the Charging Dock holds the reader upright. Both fit only the Paperwhite and Colorsoft Signature Editions. Covers in knit, plant-based leather and pebbled leather come colour-matched across the range.
The 2024 Kindles are still on sale, with years of reviews
The 6-inch Kindle and its aluminium version went on sale in the US on 1 October 2026. The Paperwhite and Colorsoft opened for preorder on a rolling basis, so the 2024 models remain on the shelf for now, with years of owner reports behind them. E-readers compared ranks those 2024 Kindles against Kobo’s readers by rating.