The Edit — Home & Garden
Amaryllis Gift Kits: Which Bulb Kit to Give This Year
A waxed bulb flowers with no care at all. A potted kit takes a little watering and can bloom again next year. The 5 below split that way, and the most-rated waxed bulb on Amazon is not one of them.
This guide is research-led: we have not handled these units ourselves. If you buy through our links we may earn a commission — it never changes a pick. How we choose
No kit here was grown or tested. This page reads each seller’s specifications and extension guidance against what owners report, and ranks the 5 kits as How we choose describes.
Gardenuity Waxed Amaryllis Bulb, white wax, white blooms
Good fit Someone who wants flowers and no chores
Not for Someone who wants the bulb to flower again next year
Costa Farms Amaryllis, live flowering plant, 2-pack
Good fit A table centrepiece with 2 stems
Not for Someone expecting a large bulb
Amaryllis Picotee bulb, 28-30 cm
Good fit A gardener who has pots and wants the biggest bulb
Not for A gift that has to look finished in the box
Amaryllis Apple Blossom growing kit with pot and saucer
Good fit A first amaryllis, with nothing else to buy
Not for A gift that needs a decorative pot
Garden State Bulb Galaxy Nymph Double Amaryllis Gift Kit, 26/28 cm
Good fit A gift that arrives wrapped
Not for Anyone who cannot wait out a slow or dud bulb
Waxed or potted: decide who does the work
A waxed bulb is sealed in wax and flowers on its own reserves, with no water and no soil. A potted or bare bulb needs a sunny window and a little water, but it can be kept and flowered again. Iowa State University Extension does not recommend saving waxed bulbs, because the bulb shrinks inside its shell.
| Kit | Type | Bulb size stated | In the box |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gardenuity white | Waxed | Not stated | Bulb, gift-ready pack |
| Costa Farms 2-pack | Live plant | Not stated | 2 bulbs |
| Daylily Nursery Picotee | Bare bulb | 28 to 30 cm | Bulb only |
| Daylily Nursery Apple Blossom | Potted kit | Not stated | Bulb, pot, saucer, mix |
| Garden State Bulb Galaxy Nymph | Potted kit | 26 to 28 cm | Bulb, planter, medium, gift bag |
Gardenuity’s white waxed bulb needs nothing at all
The Gardenuity waxed bulb is white wax around white flowers, and the seller states 4 to 6 weeks of bloom in 2 to 3 flushes. After the last flower, the wax peels away and the bulb can go outdoors.
Gardenuity Waxed Amaryllis Bulb, white wax, white blooms
A white-waxed bulb with white flowers that needs no water or soil, stated to bloom over 4 to 6 weeks.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Type | Waxed, no water or soil |
|---|---|
| Stated bloom | 4 to 6 weeks, 2 to 3 flushes |
| After | Peel the wax and plant outdoors |
Owners report weeks of flowers and several blooms per bulb, and call it a gift that looks good in the box and on the table. Value is where they divide, with some finding it worth it and others calling it expensive for 1 bulb.
4.6 across 84 ratings is the top score among these kits, on the fewest ratings of the 5.
Buy it if
- Someone who wants flowers and no chores
Don't buy it if
- Someone who wants the bulb to flower again next year
Costa Farms ships 2 bulbs as a live plant
This Costa Farms listing sends 2 amaryllis from the grower’s farm with an expected height of 24 inches. Owners describe a wax-and-glitter finish on the bulbs that makes them look like ornaments.
Costa Farms Amaryllis, live flowering plant, 2-pack
2 amaryllis bulbs shipped from Costa Farms' nursery, with an expected height of 24 inches.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Count | 2 bulbs |
|---|---|
| Expected height | 24 in |
| Shipped | As a live plant |
Owners praise the quality, the number of blooms and how well the plants grow, and say it is a gift people are happy to get. Bulb size draws mixed reports, with some finding them only about 2 inches tall on arrival.
A few report rotten bulbs, the complaint that runs through the whole category.
Buy it if
- A table centrepiece with 2 stems
Don't buy it if
- Someone expecting a large bulb
The Picotee is the biggest bulb here, at 28 to 30 cm
Bulb size decides the flower count. Clemson’s extension factsheet says a 30 to 32 cm bulb usually carries 2 stalks of 3 to 4 flowers each, and larger bulbs up to 3. The Daylily Nursery Picotee is sold at 28 to 30 cm, with white petals edged in red.
Amaryllis Picotee bulb, 28-30 cm
A single 28 to 30 cm bare bulb, white petals edged in red, stated 6 to 8 weeks from bulb to bloom.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Bulb | 28 to 30 cm circumference |
|---|---|
| Stated timing | 6 to 8 weeks, bulb to bloom |
| Includes | Bulb only |
Owners report fast growth after planting, 2 stalks of 6 blooms from some bulbs, and good value. The condition of the bulb on arrival draws mixed reports.
It ships bare, so it suits a gardener with pots and mix at home more than a gift to unwrap.
Buy it if
- A gardener who has pots and wants the biggest bulb
Don't buy it if
- A gift that has to look finished in the box
The Apple Blossom kit comes with its own pot and mix
The Apple Blossom kit, from the same Daylily Nursery store, packs the bulb with a plastic pot, saucer and potting mix. The seller warns against ordering when shipping temperatures fall below 32°F or rise above 95°F, which matters for a gift sent north in December.
Amaryllis Apple Blossom growing kit with pot and saucer
An Apple Blossom bulb, pink and white, packed with a plastic pot, saucer and potting mix.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Variety | Apple Blossom, pink and white |
|---|---|
| Includes | Bulb, plastic pot, saucer, potting mix |
| Shipping | Seller warns against below 32°F or above 95°F |
One owner counted 15 blossoms from 1 bulb, and others report a second stalk after the first. Quality divides owners, and several report bulbs that arrived rotten.
The plastic pot is light. Clemson advises a heavier pot once the stalk carries its flowers.
Buy it if
- A first amaryllis, with nothing else to buy
Don't buy it if
- A gift that needs a decorative pot
Garden State Bulb’s double arrives gift-wrapped
The Garden State Bulb Galaxy Nymph sat on Amazon’s Most Gifted list on 22 September 2026. It is the best-dressed box here: a double red bulb, a red planter, growing medium and a burlap gift bag with a bow.
Garden State Bulb Galaxy Nymph Double Amaryllis Gift Kit, 26/28 cm
A 26 to 28 cm double red bulb with a red planter, growing medium and a burlap gift bag with a bow.
Current price shown on Amazon. We may earn a commission.
| Bulb | 26 to 28 cm, double red |
|---|---|
| Includes | Red planter, growing medium, gift bag |
| Stated bloom | Up to 2 to 3 stems, 3 to 4 flowers each |
Owners call it a wonderful gift and like the large bulb and the colour. The complaint that recurs is germination, with several reporting bulbs that never sprouted.
Its 26 to 28 cm bulb is smaller than the Picotee’s, and the seller states up to 2 to 3 stems.
Buy it if
- A gift that arrives wrapped
Don't buy it if
- Anyone who cannot wait out a slow or dud bulb
The most-rated waxed bulb misses on rot reports
The Holland Bulb Farms red waxed bulb carries far more ratings than anything above, 2,310, but stood at 3.8. Owners enjoy watching it grow when it works, and report slow growth, no flowers or a rotting bulb when it does not.
Its gold-based sibling, the Holland Bulb Farms gold waxed bulb, stood at 4.1 across 798 ratings. Neither made the list: both rate below the 5 above.
The amaryllis planting calendar sets out when to pot a bulb for Thanksgiving, Christmas or New Year’s Day. For other gifts under the tree, the holiday shortlist by recipient sorts them by who is getting them.